top of page
  • Writer's pictureMartijn Bäumer

Formula 1 drivers from Mexico!

The stadium in Mexico | Copyright Shutterstock

Through the years we had more than only Sergio Perez from Mexico who competed in Formula 1. Perez is by far the best Formula 1 driver from Mexico with 253 starts, 6 wins and 34 podiums. Who are the other drivers? Let's find out.

In recent years we have Esteban Gutiérrez who competed in Formula 1 in 2013, 2014, and 2016. With Sauber and Haas. He scored one fastest lap and 6 points. In lower classes Gutiérrez was quick but failed to convince in Formula 1.

Héctor Rebaque competed in Formula 1 from 1977 till 1981. He was not really successful with 41 starts he gained 13 points. One thing that is nice to mention is that Héctor Rebaque competed with his own team and built their own car. The team competed in 30 Grand Prix!

Ricardo and Pedro Rodriguez are probably the most famous Formula 1 drivers. Ricardo Rodriguez only competed in five Grand Prix in 1961 and 1962 before he died in a crash at an unofficial practice with Rob Walkers Lotus 24. His brother Pedro competed in 55 Grand Prix and had 2 wins and 7 podiums between 1963 and 1971. He died in 1971 at the Norisring during a sportscar crash. This is one of the reasons the current F1 circuit in Mexico is mentioned after Ricardo and Pedro as they were very popular in Mexico and very talented. They would have reached more wins if they had not both died on the race track.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page